Freedom Marshmallows Review & Giveaway

Freedom Marshmallows Review & Giveaway

Some time ago I reviewed Freedom Mallows and loved them, so I was thrilled when the team recently got in touch to tell me all about their re-branding and to ask me to take a look.

The original branding was based around two rabbits (Freddy and Fiona) and Freedom Mallows were launched as a ‘free from’ product, ie: they are vegan, vegetarian and perfect for anyone that may have an intolerance (such as gluten).  If I am honest, the packaging fit the stereotype that I think many have about vegan and vegetarian foods; blandish packaging and rabbits (because apparently we vegetarians only eat ‘rabbit food’).

The product however was superb – really tasty marshmallows so I jumped at the chance to sample another batch of them!

I was veFreedom mallows mascotry pleasantly surprised when they arrived; they looked like anything you would pick up from the general confectionery section of a supermarket and I adore the new mascot – a Sloth! The illustration is fresh and modern and I would love my own little cuddly Sloth.  The team have done a really good job with the new designs.

The packaging is bright and colourful and will appeal I am sure to younger fans. But, it is the taste that matters of course. I always think tFreedom mallows Marshmallowshat vegetarian confectionery can be a bit strange tasting. Gelatine (which is actually really rather grim when you start to read what it is made up of!) is the thing that is absent from vegetarian / vegan products and I haven’t really found any brilliant vegetarian / vegan confectionery yet, although there are some good chocolate substitutes but chewy stuff I have struggled with.

The marshmallows are sold in a regular size as well as a mini size. The mini ones are ideal for baking or dropping into hot chocolate and cost approx £2.50 per 75g bag. They come in vanilla and strawberry flavours.Ghost marshmallow The strawberry ones are brilliant, and I must confess didn’t quite make it to the baking project I had planned… one taste and they soon all got eaten up!

In order to give them a fair test I thought I would trial them on my unsuspecting parents. We had a family day out last Thursday and to mark Hallowe’en I made some spooky marshmallow ghosts using food colouring pens to draw ghost faces on the Freedom marshmallows. We shared them around and my dad, who loves marshmallows really enjoyed them – so much so that I think he probably had more than his fair share! I asked my parents what they thought of the marshmallows and they looked at me a bit bemused… ie: well, they’re marshmallows so they’re obviously really nice! When I told them they were vegan ones they were amazed and would never have guessed that the were missing the usual gelatine ingredient.

The regular size marshmallows are great as a quick sweet treat and the mini ones are perfect for baking with. I made some rocky road bites (which I will share the recipe for later this week) and they were brilliant. The mini ones also melt really well in hot chocolate.

Freedom Mallows are available to buy in a number of places such as Holland & Barrett and Harvey Nichols as well as some smaller independent outlets across the country including some local Manchester ones including Slattery’s and The Eighth Day.

I’m really excited that the team at Freedom Mallows are offering three of my readers a chance to win a bag of the re-branded marshmallows and a Freedom Confectionery cotton shopping bag. In order to be in with a chance of winning then complete the rafflecopter below.

 

20141110_081559
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:

155 Comments

  1. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs
    3rd November 2014 / 20:53

    Fruit and Marshmellow Kebabs 🙂 Thank you for the yummy giveaway x

  2. tony
    3rd November 2014 / 21:10

    I have entered the competition but couldn’t see the giveaway

  3. 3rd November 2014 / 21:22

    Hot Chocolate with floating marshmellows

  4. 3rd November 2014 / 22:32

    I love making hot chocolate with tonnes of marshmallows. I am somewhat of a marshmallow addict! 😉

    Jenna at Tinyfootsteps xx

  5. kim plant
    3rd November 2014 / 22:33

    is it shmores ?? x

  6. 4th November 2014 / 07:35

    Has to be hot chocolate with mini marshmallows and as a bonus my daughter doesn’t like them so all the more for me 🙂 #TriedTested

  7. 4th November 2014 / 08:34

    These sound great, as I vegetarian myself, I miss my favourite sweets, especially marshmallows! We love making kebabs with strawberries and marshmallows to dip in melted chocolate!

  8. 4th November 2014 / 09:24

    These sound lovely, great to see a ‘free from’ sweet treat. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

  9. 4th November 2014 / 17:26

    I love these marshmallows! I always buy them with the intention of making something with them but they’re so yummy that I just eat them all out of the bag!

  10. You Baby Me Mummy
    4th November 2014 / 20:44

    Yummy, shame I am on a diet! #TriedTested

  11. aaron broad
    5th November 2014 / 12:34

    I like making marshmallow tree’s

  12. Heather Haigh
    5th November 2014 / 12:45

    I like to use them as a topping on cupcakes.

  13. Joanne Jackson
    5th November 2014 / 12:58

    Smores

  14. John Taggart
    5th November 2014 / 13:04

    I love to dip them in a chocolate fountain

  15. Andrea
    5th November 2014 / 13:15

    Hot chocolate with mini marshmallows.

  16. Kat Lucas
    5th November 2014 / 13:19

    I make fudge with marshmallows

  17. jodie crossley
    5th November 2014 / 13:40

    marshmallow fluff!

  18. KATHY D
    5th November 2014 / 14:14

    float them on my hot chocolate

  19. Paul T
    5th November 2014 / 14:15

    Marshmallows dipped in chocolate

  20. 5th November 2014 / 14:44

    Marshmallow and fruit kebabs or hot chocolate 🙂

  21. iain
    5th November 2014 / 14:45

    Hot chocolate with mini marshmallows

  22. Lorraine Tinsley
    5th November 2014 / 15:08

    I like eating them au natural, melting them and dipping in chocolate. I just love marshmallows 🙂

  23. samantha price
    5th November 2014 / 15:10

    i love rocky road

  24. karen cowley
    5th November 2014 / 15:22

    Lovely, in a hot chocolate , love it while camping x

  25. zoe payne
    5th November 2014 / 15:26

    rice krispie cake

  26. Heather Macklin
    5th November 2014 / 16:15

    Adding them to hot chocolate

  27. 5th November 2014 / 16:24

    It has to be hot chocolate with marshmallows on top

  28. Dominique Orlowski
    5th November 2014 / 16:59

    hot chocolate with marshmallows & squirty cream mmmm, a most on cold days

  29. Emily Carter-Dunn
    5th November 2014 / 17:38

    I like adding mini ones to hot chocolate. EJ Dunn

  30. ashleigh allan
    5th November 2014 / 18:24

    Rocky road!

  31. ann clements
    5th November 2014 / 18:36

    hot chocolate

  32. Claire Hull
    5th November 2014 / 18:44

    Rice krispies cakes

  33. Sandra Lane
    5th November 2014 / 18:45

    A lovely topping for Hot Chocolate

  34. laura stewart
    5th November 2014 / 18:58

    rocky road oh yes 🙂

  35. Olga carpenter
    5th November 2014 / 20:00

    Rice Krispie cakes

  36. William Gould
    5th November 2014 / 20:13

    In my mug of hot chocolate!

  37. Kevin Honey
    5th November 2014 / 20:31

    No time to make anything, just eat them on their own!

  38. lucy higgins
    5th November 2014 / 22:16

    Rocky road

  39. Lauren Collins
    5th November 2014 / 22:56

    Either in hot chocolate or in rocky road.

  40. Barbara Handley
    5th November 2014 / 23:34

    I add them to hot chocolate.

  41. jennifer bolognesi
    6th November 2014 / 11:57

    put them in a meringue with chocolate

  42. Pam Francis Gregory
    6th November 2014 / 14:12

    Add them to an Eton Mess

  43. 6th November 2014 / 19:08

    Dipped in chocolate or on the top of a lovely creamy hot chocolate

  44. Lyla
    6th November 2014 / 20:49

    Hot chocolate with marshmallow floaters

  45. Vicki Carter
    6th November 2014 / 20:54

    Chocolate fountain with fruit, marshmallow and fruit kebabs for it 🙂

  46. 6th November 2014 / 22:58

    toasted marshmallow or on top of squirty cream in a hot chocolate

  47. Tracey Poulter
    6th November 2014 / 23:37

    marshmallows dipped in chocolate fondue

  48. 7th November 2014 / 00:38

    I like putting mini marshmallows onto cupcakes.

  49. Natalie carter
    7th November 2014 / 08:13

    Rice crispie cakes marshmallow makes them so gooy

  50. 7th November 2014 / 09:20

    my choice would be to put the on small sticks and dip them in freedom chocolate

  51. Andrea Fletcher
    7th November 2014 / 15:10

    Hot chocolate with marshmallows on top.

  52. Harriet
    7th November 2014 / 21:28

    Hot chocolate with marshmallows on.

  53. leanne perrett
    8th November 2014 / 21:41

    i like making rocky road so simple and yummy

  54. fiona mcbride
    8th November 2014 / 22:29

    carob and nut coated

  55. Andy Kadir-Buxton
    9th November 2014 / 05:45

    On their own over a BBQ.

  56. 9th November 2014 / 19:32

    They sound fabulous – I love marshmallows on my hot choc or in rocky road x

    Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested this week x

  57. 11th November 2014 / 06:28

    I like making marshmallow kebabs, hot chocolate with marshmallows on top and home made rice crispy marshmallow squares as well as toasted marshmallows and roasted apples with melted marshmallow blankets.

  58. Deborah B
    11th November 2014 / 09:04

    Hot Chocolate with marshmallows

  59. Stevie
    11th November 2014 / 09:06

    Chocolate top hats.

  60. Mel
    11th November 2014 / 12:58

    Vegetarian Rocky Road

  61. Seren Pope
    11th November 2014 / 14:05

    Vegan hot chocolate with marshmallows, or vegan rice krispie treats!

  62. Rebekka C
    11th November 2014 / 17:00

    Would love to win these to enjoy a vegan hot chocolate on holiday 😀

  63. Danielle
    11th November 2014 / 19:09

    Rocky roads!

  64. Jennifer toal
    11th November 2014 / 21:02

    Hot choc and marsh mallows

  65. Jacqueline Buckley
    12th November 2014 / 16:32

    smores or by themselves

  66. 12th November 2014 / 21:39

    Make, what you on about, I will be eating them hopefully if my daughters share them with me.

  67. Rebecca Townsend
    14th November 2014 / 11:06

    Rocky Roads

  68. sarah stevens
    15th November 2014 / 20:28

    Hot chocolate with mini marshmallows

  69. Emma Carvell
    15th November 2014 / 21:32

    Hot chocolate with marshmallows! Or toasted marshmallows! I can’t make anything too elaborate because I want to eat them asap!

  70. Sue McCarthy
    16th November 2014 / 07:42

    Rocky Road

  71. Claire D
    16th November 2014 / 13:11

    Rocky Road cakes

  72. sandy henry
    16th November 2014 / 16:48

    The old favourite, hot chocolate with marshmallows x

  73. 16th November 2014 / 17:05

    Rice krispie squares with marshmallows running through them, melted and whole.

  74. Natalie England
    16th November 2014 / 17:19

    I love putting them in hot chocolate 🙂

  75. Ann Skamarauskas
    16th November 2014 / 18:03

    Hot chocolate, especially on cold miserable days

  76. 17th November 2014 / 13:52

    I love marshmallows but haven’t had them since I turned veggie many years ago, I would love to win these. My favorite way to eat them would be to toast them on a fire. Thanks for the yummy giveaway.

  77. 17th November 2014 / 17:19

    pancakes, it makes them fluffy.

  78. clair downham
    17th November 2014 / 17:35

    putting in hot chocolate

  79. Joy Dehany
    17th November 2014 / 18:26

    I haven’t had marshmallows for years, due to the gelatin. Years ago I used to grill them between two chocolate digestive biscuits, that was lovely 😀 Been trying to find decent vegan marshmallows for a long time.

  80. leanne weir
    17th November 2014 / 21:52

    Hot Chocolate with floating marshmellows

  81. jaseos81
    17th November 2014 / 22:32

    Gelatine has meant I have avoided marshmallows but it seems there is no need to anymore, excellent! I hope they are as good as they sound.

  82. 18th November 2014 / 19:22

    daughter makes cup cakes with marshmallows in them

  83. 18th November 2014 / 20:30

    rocky road is great with marshmallows x

  84. thedrummergirl
    19th November 2014 / 00:22

    Hot Chocolate!

  85. Robby Price
    19th November 2014 / 14:28

    Toasted marshmallows

  86. Karen laing
    19th November 2014 / 15:45

    I love them just as they are!

  87. sarah
    19th November 2014 / 17:40

    vegan marshmallows? How fabulous to be able to eat them after all these years without

  88. Solange
    19th November 2014 / 21:52

    Smores

  89. jacquiturner
    19th November 2014 / 22:15

    Rocky Road Brownies… yum!

  90. Gillian Hutchison
    20th November 2014 / 13:29

    We love using them to decorate cakes also Top hat cakes for parties 🙂

  91. Clare B.
    20th November 2014 / 15:27

    Rice crispy cakes with marshmallow, caramel and chocolate!

  92. Karis
    20th November 2014 / 16:02

    Those chocolate covered cereal things.

  93. Lynda Shrubb
    20th November 2014 / 17:12

    Prefer them just as they are. In hot chocolate comes a close second.

  94. 20th November 2014 / 17:54

    I like making marshmallow pops- put marshmallows on a stick & cover with white or milk chocolate. cover in sprinkles and allow to set. They are so yummy!

  95. Tara Chernick
    20th November 2014 / 18:21

    Add them to a Rocky Road (refrigerator cake)…. mmmmm

  96. stephanie murray
    20th November 2014 / 18:29

    Rice krispies squares. 🙂 yummy.

  97. Maria Jane Knight
    20th November 2014 / 18:43

    I love to pop them into a hot chocolate 🙂

  98. Hannah Lawrence (Lewenstein)
    20th November 2014 / 19:26

    Rice Crispie squares! Haven’t had them in years!! Nomnom

  99. Sophie Mae
    20th November 2014 / 20:13

    I have would love to put them on skewers along with strawberries and dip them in melted, warm chocolate, yummy!

  100. 20th November 2014 / 20:24

    As a vegetarian these would be a perfect treat

  101. Angela Fitzjohn
    20th November 2014 / 20:37

    We make Rocky Road chocolate cake.

  102. Helen Garner
    20th November 2014 / 21:04

    I love marshmallows in hot chocolate

  103. Deborah Bird
    20th November 2014 / 22:40

    Rocky Road!

  104. natalie holland
    20th November 2014 / 22:43

    Fridge cake – basically melted chocolate, biscuit, sulanas, marshmellows, butter and golden syrup – very easy but fun to make with kids. x

  105. Karen R
    21st November 2014 / 06:59

    I love marshmallows and fruit in melted chocolate 🙂

  106. Tressa Herriott
    21st November 2014 / 09:23

    S’mores

  107. lynn heath
    21st November 2014 / 12:50

    I love cupcakes with butter ice and marshmallows ontop!!!ll

  108. Di Fryd
    21st November 2014 / 14:50

    Marshmallows sprinkled on hot chocolate. Sweet.

  109. sandy
    21st November 2014 / 16:14

    s’mores on the campfire 🙂

  110. Krystina Smith
    21st November 2014 / 19:50

    Hot chocolate with marshmallows!

  111. Alisa Moore
    21st November 2014 / 20:25

    toasted marshmallows

  112. Lauren Chaplin
    21st November 2014 / 20:57

    Marshmallows covered in choclate.

  113. Monica Gilbert
    21st November 2014 / 21:05

    I like making S’mores with marshmallows. They have to have a crispy brown coating when toasted on the fire. In a pinch, I’ve toasted them on the hob.

  114. 21st November 2014 / 22:08

    a frothy hot chocolate with marshmellows floating on the top 🙂

  115. Lucy carter
    21st November 2014 / 23:21

    Rocky road

  116. Lauren Old
    22nd November 2014 / 08:47

    Rocky roads!

  117. Ellie Spider
    22nd November 2014 / 11:19

    Has to be hot chocolate with marshmallows as I’m not a brill cook – we also make pop corn and pop some mini marshmallows in with it – delicious

  118. jo liddement
    22nd November 2014 / 13:39

    My son likes me making marshmallow and chocolate cookies

  119. olivia280177
    22nd November 2014 / 15:46

    Rocky road bars

  120. Chris Fletcher
    22nd November 2014 / 18:10

    toasted marshmallows are pretty awesome!

  121. 22nd November 2014 / 19:37

    Hot chocolate with marshmallows

  122. 22nd November 2014 / 19:43

    i love marshmallows dipped in melted chocolate

  123. anita roberts
    22nd November 2014 / 20:25

    dipped in chocolate

  124. Anneka Hulse
    22nd November 2014 / 20:55

    chocolate crispy cakes with marshmallows

  125. Nicola Holland
    22nd November 2014 / 21:01

    Dipping marshmallows in chocolate 🙂

  126. Susan Hoggett
    22nd November 2014 / 21:57

    hot chocolate

  127. Jo Glasspool
    22nd November 2014 / 23:03

    On hot chocolate x

  128. Sarah Taylor
    23rd November 2014 / 07:23

    I like to mix marshmallows with strawberries, steamed rice and a little condensed milk. It goes in the microwave until the marshmallows are squishy and it tastes awesome!

  129. carol boffey
    23rd November 2014 / 09:14

    coated in choclate

  130. Jennifer Baker
    23rd November 2014 / 11:08

    Hot chocolate, Marshmellows, Cream and sprinkles!

  131. Kim Styles
    23rd November 2014 / 12:33

    Marshmallow mountains with white chocolate snow caps

  132. siobhan
    23rd November 2014 / 14:00

    hot choc

  133. Sarah JG
    23rd November 2014 / 14:31

    rockyroad..yum yum

  134. LEE HARDY
    23rd November 2014 / 14:34

    Hot chocolate with marshmellows & whipped cream

  135. Kerry Locke
    23rd November 2014 / 16:17

    Smores

  136. Sarah Saunders
    23rd November 2014 / 18:46

    Rice crispie cakes with melted marshmallows…yummy!!

  137. Jackie Chapman
    23rd November 2014 / 20:29

    Crispy cakes 🙂

  138. Ashley Ritchie
    23rd November 2014 / 20:41

    Goes great with hot chocolate. Especially as it’s now so cold

  139. Gemma Clark
    23rd November 2014 / 22:18

    Toasted on the bbq!

  140. Zoe Roxby
    23rd November 2014 / 22:42

    I always melt them in chocolate and make sticky rice krispie cakes

Let me know your thoughts with a comment below

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.