The Book with No Pictures Review & Giveaway

The Book with No Pictures Review & Giveaway

I have seen a bit of information about The Book with No Pictures – it has popped up on facebook and twitter feeds and I was really intridgued. When we were a sent a soft copy of The Book With No Pictures to review I wasn’t too sure what to expect.

The book with no pictures reviewFirstly, it is bland and looks a bit dull. It’s a simple white cover that just states its title and author’s name. Inside it is, as the name suggests just text. There are no pictures. Not a one.  But then that’s the whole point. The twist with this ‘picture book’ is that the reader must read the book aloud, regardless of what it says and no matter how silly it is.

I wasn’t sure what Daniel would make of this book to be honest, it is completely opposite to how we use books in our day to day; I like to talk to him about what we can see in the illustrations. But, I have to say he did giggle away as I read it to him. It Is completely different to any other type of book for children that I have ever seen, and that is it’s appeal I think.

There isn’t a huge amount of text, and it didn’t take us too long to read, it is one of those books that can be read as quickly or as slowly as possible, and like all good books it holds your attention. It isn’t however simply plain black text, it is presented in a colourful dynamic way which is also part of the appeal.

It goes to show that really, books don’t always need pictures in order to be engaging and entertaining to children.

I can’t wait to get my hands on the hard copy of this book when it is released on 4 December. In the meantime I am thrilled to be able to offer my readers a chance to win a copy of this book. To enter complete the rafflecopter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Follow:

39 Comments

  1. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs
    20th November 2014 / 20:05

    Meet the Parents by Peter Bently is a favourite with our family at the moment 🙂 thank you for the giveaway x

  2. Ashleigh Allan
    20th November 2014 / 20:30

    the tiger who came to tea!

  3. lynn heath
    21st November 2014 / 11:23

    The very hungry caterpillar

  4. Rachel Craig
    21st November 2014 / 12:09

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

  5. Liam Bishop
    21st November 2014 / 13:02

    The Gruffalo.

  6. Sandra Lane
    21st November 2014 / 16:11

    The Tiger who came to Tea

  7. Claire D
    21st November 2014 / 20:02

    The magic faraway tree – Enid Blyton

  8. Jess Powell
    22nd November 2014 / 17:10

    The Famous Five series

  9. Janis Sargeson
    22nd November 2014 / 20:51

    Hairy Maclary

  10. Monica Gilbert
    23rd November 2014 / 03:20

    Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. It’s a great alphabet book.

  11. Sarah JG
    23rd November 2014 / 14:28

    what the ladybird heard

  12. Pam Francis Gregory
    23rd November 2014 / 21:15

    The Gruffalo

  13. Harriet
    24th November 2014 / 00:34

    My cat likes to hide in boxes

  14. Cor555
    25th November 2014 / 18:30

    The gruffalo

  15. Fiona Rennie
    28th November 2014 / 13:38

    The hungry caterpillar 🙂

  16. michelle banks
    28th November 2014 / 18:15

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

  17. Stephen Little
    3rd December 2014 / 18:32

    Treasure Island

  18. 4th December 2014 / 23:02

    My favourite book is a very old one called Wanted a King by Maggie Brown

  19. Jade
    5th December 2014 / 07:28

    Monkey puzzle

  20. 5th December 2014 / 10:33

    red,rocket and rainbow jelly or at christmas its father christmas needs a wee 😉

  21. Rebecca Powell
    5th December 2014 / 11:06

    We love The Gruffalo

  22. Rachel white
    5th December 2014 / 12:44

    Guess how much I love you

  23. Clare S
    5th December 2014 / 14:52

    We love Going on a Bear Hunt

  24. Kim Styles
    5th December 2014 / 17:00

    The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams

  25. Amanda Longman
    5th December 2014 / 19:19

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

  26. Irene Gilmour
    5th December 2014 / 21:01

    stick man

  27. Julie Ward
    5th December 2014 / 21:57

    At the moment its any Thomas book

  28. Viv Will
    5th December 2014 / 22:15

    Guess how much i love you.

  29. Laura Farnworth
    5th December 2014 / 23:29

    The lion the witch and the wardrobe.

  30. claire matthews-curtis
    6th December 2014 / 06:21

    The hungry caterpillar

  31. carol boffey
    6th December 2014 / 08:57

    monkey puzzle

  32. Keith Hunt
    6th December 2014 / 13:53

    the famous five go off in a caravan

  33. lee hardy
    6th December 2014 / 19:20

    The gruffalo

Let me know your thoughts with a comment below