Review – O’Mara Colouring Books

Review – O’Mara Colouring Books

The latest Michael O’Mara colouring books were sent to me a few weeks ago to review, and they are another winning set!

I really do enjoy these books; they are such good fun. As I now have quite a collection I have been thinking about what I could do with the finished work. When I opened the Glorious Gardens book I knew just what I could do. The first page is a lovely image and I decided I would colour this one and frame it, to go up in our hallway where all Daniel’s artwork goes. I have been working on this page for about a week – it is really intricate and took me much longer than I thought it would.

Omara Colouring books

I am so pleased though with the final result – it think looks great and I have framed in a bright red frame from Ikea. The Glorious Gardens book is lovely and I think is my favourite of all the books I have been sent to review my O’mara so far.O'mara colouring books

 

There are studies that show the positive impact that colouring in can have, and I have to say I find it really relaxing. My next project is taken from theΒ Beautiful Patterns book. I have been working on this one when I get up in the night to do Emma’s milk – it will be a reminder of the time I have spent awake at unearthly hours. I have two more frames from Ikea so I will eventually frame this one and put in Emma’s room I think – I hope she treasures it!!Β  I am secretly hopeful however that it never gets finished, as that means she might finally have stopped waking the night!

 

Time will tell though. There are so many lovely pages in both of these books, and I am thinking that with some of the pages I may colour sections, cut the pages up and them laminate them. The idea being to turn into cards for Daniel to match colours and designs etc. I am also thinking of making some drinks coasters with sections of pages if I can find something to insert the pages into (I am sure I have seen a plastic type thing somewhere before now) and even possibly making some cards too if I ever find time to do some papercrafting!

 

I am thrilled that the team at O’mara books are offering one of my readers the opportunity to win a copy of the Glorious Gardens book – the perfect gift as Christmas approaches or to while away the winter nights.

 

To enter, complete the entry form below. The winner will be selected at random on 16th November.

 

Β  Glorious Gardens Colouring Book

Family Fever
Follow:

97 Comments

  1. 23rd October 2014 / 02:11

    Wow, these look good. I always associate colouring books with kids but not so. You could use the finished designs for decoupage #TriedTested

    • Beryl Drake
      14th November 2014 / 20:59

      Frame them and hang them

  2. carla mills
    23rd October 2014 / 09:21

    Wrap one up with each present as a little extra for everyone. Xx

  3. 23rd October 2014 / 12:03

    Photo copy them & use them for wrapping presents in

  4. iain mac
    23rd October 2014 / 12:05

    fandabidozy giveaway

  5. 23rd October 2014 / 13:25

    You can add collage, use glitter pens, or a mixture of media (felt tips, painting pencils, pastels etc!)

  6. sarah rees
    23rd October 2014 / 13:53

    frame them πŸ™‚

  7. Susan Smith
    23rd October 2014 / 14:19

    These look terrific, for the older children

  8. KATHY D
    23rd October 2014 / 14:27

    i have n idea to decopatch them on a tray

  9. elaine dale
    23rd October 2014 / 14:45

    make them into cards

  10. Sandra Lane
    23rd October 2014 / 14:48

    Put them in frames to brighten up a plain wall.

  11. Renee Armstrong
    23rd October 2014 / 15:26

    pin them on the wall in the loo !

  12. Judith Hamilton
    23rd October 2014 / 15:48

    Just colour in and let my husband laugh at me.

  13. 23rd October 2014 / 18:05

    They would make lovely covers for gift boxes

  14. 23rd October 2014 / 18:15

    What a lovely pattern, looks great in a frame! Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

  15. Tracey Parker
    23rd October 2014 / 18:16

    It’s a fab way to relax in the evening

  16. Pam Hubbard
    23rd October 2014 / 19:06

    fantastic prize

  17. Cat Culmer
    23rd October 2014 / 20:15

    Frame them and put them on the wall

  18. Joanne Hutchings
    23rd October 2014 / 20:19

    You could use them as wrapping paper.

  19. Karen Usher
    23rd October 2014 / 21:28

    I would send one to family to put on their fridge like I used to do when I was a little girl πŸ™‚ My Mum would be so proud lol

  20. tina edwards
    23rd October 2014 / 21:53

    use them as wrapping paper

  21. Genna St Michael
    23rd October 2014 / 22:40

    placemats? Not sure how x

  22. laura stewart
    24th October 2014 / 08:15

    frame them looks great

  23. Natalie Grace
    24th October 2014 / 14:33

    Use them as unique giftwrap πŸ™‚

  24. 24th October 2014 / 21:08

    Frame them or make them into wall decorations (shape them)

  25. anne murray
    24th October 2014 / 22:49

    Photo copy them and use them to wrap gifts

  26. Jennifer toal
    25th October 2014 / 13:18

    This would be lovely and relaxing to do alongside the kids

  27. lia sturman
    25th October 2014 / 19:24

    would look good in a frame

  28. Lyla
    25th October 2014 / 22:31

    Laminate them and use them as place mats

  29. Corinne Peat
    26th October 2014 / 07:31

    The older kids could colour them in then use them to wrap their homework book and spelling books.

  30. Polly
    26th October 2014 / 08:20

    Lovely patterns I could do with some relaxing myself πŸ™‚

  31. Lucy higgins
    27th October 2014 / 09:26

    I like the idea of wrapping gifts with or they could be made into gift bags. They would also be lovely for crafting and used to make cards either using them as backing paper or pretty envelopes. Another idea would be using them as writing paper and writing on the other side. I’m not sure if it’s allowed but you could colour photocopy the finished product and then you could use it again.

  32. melanie stirling
    27th October 2014 / 18:16

    Use them to decoupage storage boxes.

  33. Laura Loo
    29th October 2014 / 09:45

    Make them into cards

  34. Louise Gardener
    30th October 2014 / 10:27

    I love colouring, this would be a perfect way to relax

  35. lynne collins
    30th October 2014 / 10:51

    use them for decoupage,or in craft projects,like card making and covering boxes etc

  36. 30th October 2014 / 12:28

    I’d definitely frame them, or use them for wrapping paper. Would be great cut into smaller bits and used to make cards too x

  37. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs
    30th October 2014 / 15:03

    Add them as background paper to Scrapbook Page Photos – thank you for the giveaway x

  38. Tania Atfield
    30th October 2014 / 19:29

    Get all my friends to have a go at this.

  39. stewart w
    31st October 2014 / 16:48

    great prize

  40. Rosalind Blight
    2nd November 2014 / 20:01

    has to be wrapping paper

  41. Maxine Owen
    3rd November 2014 / 20:50

    Wrapping paper or gift tags with normal paper.

  42. Zoe Roxby
    3rd November 2014 / 23:13

    can stick them inside of a frame as a background for a photo

  43. Stevie
    5th November 2014 / 09:30

    They could be transferred to a set of mugs or my favourite would be onto a photo keyring. Well unless you have one of those huge set of keys like some folk do.

  44. Farhana
    5th November 2014 / 11:07

    use them for wrapping papers or to wrap boxes to make pretty storage boxes

  45. 5th November 2014 / 11:28

    Colour, tear a page, fashion a lampshade cover ~

  46. Heather Haigh
    5th November 2014 / 12:48

    Would make great wrapping paper or book covers.

  47. Lynn heath
    5th November 2014 / 18:10

    I think they would look lovely framed for my desk at work to liven it up a bit!

  48. Pam Francis Gregory
    6th November 2014 / 14:06

    Use as wrapping paper

  49. MichelleD
    7th November 2014 / 13:05

    They’d make brilliant Wrapping paper!

  50. sarah pope
    10th November 2014 / 00:04

    Cover exercise books for school

  51. Sue McCarthy
    10th November 2014 / 16:40

    Wrapping paper or turn them into a jigsaw

  52. Keri Jones
    10th November 2014 / 21:02

    We use colouring pages in scrapbook layouts & for wrapping paper πŸ™‚ x

  53. Elaine B
    11th November 2014 / 16:00

    I agree – would definitely use this as wrapping paper, it’s beautiful

  54. Shelly Beckman
    12th November 2014 / 19:49

    I love this, there’s so many things I would use this for, decoupage or lining drawers maybe.

  55. eloise mccarthy
    12th November 2014 / 23:54

    make them into placemats πŸ™‚

  56. charlotte aldridge
    13th November 2014 / 22:49

    Put them in frames x

  57. Nicola Holland
    14th November 2014 / 07:14

    Laminate them into placemats

  58. Jade
    14th November 2014 / 07:23

    Make cards with them

  59. sandy henry
    14th November 2014 / 10:21

    birthday cards, postcards x

  60. Andrea Miles
    14th November 2014 / 11:41

    use for wrapping small presensts

  61. Lucy carter
    14th November 2014 / 14:47

    Use them as wrapping paper for small gifts

  62. Samantha McDonough
    14th November 2014 / 16:30

    I like to make my own cards so for them, and maybe putting in a frame to make a cool picture.

  63. Bernadette Willis
    14th November 2014 / 17:03

    frame them or create greetings cards from them

  64. Val Pownall
    14th November 2014 / 18:15

    How lovely! I love colouring with our little ones. They could maybe be laminated and made into book covers, or add sequins, glitter etc.

  65. Rachel King
    14th November 2014 / 20:42

    To be honest, I think the creativity for me would be in colouring them in πŸ™‚

  66. tonkatol
    14th November 2014 / 22:12

    They would make really personal wrapping paper for a special friend’s gift.

  67. Margaret
    14th November 2014 / 22:16

    I’m not particularly crafty but maybe they could be used as some kind of scrapbook paper with momentos on the non-coloured side? Not sure if it would work but thats my suggestion πŸ™‚

  68. Sarah Buckley
    15th November 2014 / 00:08

    Use them to line see-through plastic draws for a fun effect!

  69. Felicity Kelly
    15th November 2014 / 00:32

    I would use them as backing paper for scrap booking

  70. Krystina Smith
    15th November 2014 / 02:27

    Wrapping paper!

  71. Sarah Parker
    15th November 2014 / 08:34

    hang them up πŸ™‚

  72. Becky Shorting
    15th November 2014 / 09:18

    wrapping popper or cards

  73. victoria thurgood
    15th November 2014 / 11:30

    covering my daughters school books

  74. LEE HARDY
    15th November 2014 / 11:39

    Use as wrapping paper.

  75. carol boffey
    15th November 2014 / 11:47

    paper beads

  76. 15th November 2014 / 12:07

    Laminate them and use them as place settings.

  77. Chris Fletcher
    15th November 2014 / 13:54

    Wrapping presents in them!

  78. sarah pearce
    15th November 2014 / 14:15

    laminate them and use them as place mats x

  79. katie skeoch
    15th November 2014 / 14:34

    Make a colourful wall collage

  80. Jeanette
    15th November 2014 / 15:38

    Laminate them and use as placemats

  81. stacey
    15th November 2014 / 16:08

    frame them

  82. Hannah Whitling
    15th November 2014 / 21:47

    Frame them, use them in card making, wrap presents

  83. Jeremy Andrews
    15th November 2014 / 22:40

    I would scan then and make them a screen saver for my PC

Let me know your thoughts with a comment below